Categories · Geographic Regions

Southwest Pacific

The Southwest Pacific Threatened Conifer Region includes Papua New Guinea, the Solomon Islands, Vanuatu, New Caledonia, Fiji and Tonga. The climate is generally tropical to subtropical with cyclones and monsoons being a major influence.

The majority of conifer species are montane with the primary centres of endemism and threatened species occurring in New Caledonia and Fiji. New Caledonia alone has 43 conifer species (in 14 genera and four families), with 13 of the 19 known Araucaria species along with the world's only known parasitic conifer (Parasitaxus usta). In contrast, the conifer flora and ecology in the Solomon Islands and Vanuatu are relatively poorly known. Currently this region has 28 globally threatened conifer species, 23 of which are endemic to New Caledonia. Threats throughout relate to mining, logging, land conversion for agriculture and fire. In New Caledonia many of the conifers, including most Araucaria species are restricted to ultramafic substrates which are rich in one of the country's major exports, nickel.

There are 42 taxa in the category – Southwest Pacific:

Download full list of taxa in this category as CSV

Page 1 of 5 pages · next page >